VBA: Find matches in other workbooks for a list of values

ridlesthwate

Hi
I have very little experience in VBA but need to puttogether some code to save me a great deal of time. To set the scene:
Each day I get a list of style numbers for products. I have to check each style number against acollection of other workbooks and copy the corresponding row(s) to a mastersheet for the day.
The ‘database’ workbooks are all in one folder and there arecurrently 39 of them. Each workbook hasmultiple worksheets. The workbooks aresent from the product suppliers each season so I would need to be able to updatethe list of ‘database’ workbooks with new files and updated filenames.
I would like to the code to search for each style number inall of the ‘database’ workbooks and return the whole row for each match to anew workbook.
I have found bits of code which will do some of this so Ithink what I am asking about is possible but have no idea how to put this alltogether into something that works.
Any help much appreciated.
Thank you

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
Q1 Is the match simply matching the style number

Q2 Is column A the lookup column in each worksheet in every workbook ?

Q3
Is there only ONE value to be returned for each style (ie the FIRST match) ?
- cancelling the search after the first match each time would speed up the code enormously
- if there are potentially several matches to be returned for each style number then please explain what you want

Q4
Are there any other files in the same folder as the 39 workbooks ?

Q5 How big are your database workbooks ?
- what I am thinking is that it would be better to amalgamate all the workbooks into one MEGA workbook for this purpose ( can be achieved by VBA )
(one MEGA workbook would avoid opening 39 workbooks every day - much much faster)