How to change dynamically excel external file name change daily as the date

nareshk00

Hi all,
I am a beginner to this technology VBA Excel.

I faced a problem in the project

• Read an external file and look for a Specific String (This external file name will change daily – as the Date – which will be part of the file name – will be dynamic)
  • Return a Value from the 8th Column for the Matching Text

When I try to hardcode the file name (with the Date) – there is a Value returned.

But when the file name is Dynamic (such as Today() – 1 etc.), then the function does not work.

See more details below:

• I am looking for a DYNAMIC Value in the Quoted/RED highlighted area in the function below:

• =IF(FileExists(),VLOOKUP("NET EFFECT ON TRIAL BALANCE",'\\internal-de1\DE-PHS-Collections\DB\Processing_Summary\[PROC_SUMMARY_DB_DLY_
    .xlsx]DB Processing_Summary_Report'!$A$4:$H$40,8,FALSE),2)

• I am looking for the TEXT Match for “NET EFFECT ON TRIAL BALANCE” within the file – and then returning a Total Value (the Net Balance) as a result.
  • I am trying to have the FILENAME (Date) – Highlighted in Quoted/RED above – change on a Daily basis!

----Thank you to all

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
You need this to replace the red bit:
Code:
&TEXT(TODAY(),"yyyymmdd")&
So, the whole thing would be:
Code:
=IF(FileExists(),VLOOKUP("NET EFFECT ON TRIAL BALANCE",'\\internal-de1\DE-PHS-Collections\DB\Processing_Summary\[PROC_SUMMARY_DB_DLY_"&TEXT(TODAY(),"yyyymmdd")&".xlsx]DB Processing_Summary_Report'!$A$4:$H$40,8,FALSE),2)

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thank you Jmacleary for your response.