Solution not needed - just clarity on a piece of this code!

JamesonMH

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi folks,

I got the below code online somewhere a a few months back and its recently come in handy for something I'm doing (copying every other row and pasting it elsewhere).

However, I'm new to VBA and do not understand 1 thing (which is a problem since I'll need to troubleshoot): why does "Set RowSelect =" appear twice??

I can't wrap my head around why it's Set as MyRange.Rows(2), but then 2 lines later its Set as something else, but in the end it all works perfectly. Don't you Set a variable to an object once and be done with it?

Any explanation on that piece would be super appreciated. Cheers, James.

Sub Copy_every_nth_row()
Dim MyRange As Range, RowSelect As Range, i As Integer, LR As Long
LR = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
Set MyRange = Range("A1:A" & LR)
Set RowSelect = MyRange.Rows(2)

For i = 2 To LR Step 2
Set RowSelect = Union(RowSelect, MyRange.Rows(i))
Next i
RowSelect.Copy Range("D2")

End Sub

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
Hi James,

The code is building a range called RowSelect. To do this the code uses the VBA only function called UNION which needs a range to already have something in it (this is what your first highlight is for which is Row 2 in this case) before more can be added (appended) to it (this is what the second highlight is doing by adding each Row "i").

Though you define a variable once you don't necessarily only assign something to it once. For instance you could use the variable LR to find the last Row in another column apart from column A as it's presently doing.

HTH

Robert

Upvote 0
Thanks Robert for the quick reply and the clear explanation, it definitely answers some of my questions.