Vlookup with multiple occurances of a value

Hyp40

Hi. I have a master postcode list and have been using Vlookup to check if my postcode is in the master list and to bring back info from neighbouring cells in the master postcode list. This was working well until I found that my postcode could occur more than once in the master list (with different info in the neighbouring cells). How can I get each of these back rather than just the first one? Also, some cells in the master list contain a number of postcodes, separated by commas. The vlookup doesn't find any of these. The master list changes weekly, so it is impractical to separate out the cells with multiple postcodes in.

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
Hi Hyp40,

I am not aware of a solution without VBA (possibly it can be done with CSE formulas and a bit of complication with Index/Match and similar), however, with VBA it is quite straightforward. Kudos to TrumpExcel for providing me with a bit of insight on how to do it.

1. Add the following code in new module in VBA
Code:
Function SingleCellLookup(LookupValue As String, LookupRange As Range, ColumnNumber As Integer)  Dim i As Long
  Dim Result As String
  For i = 1 To LookupRange.Columns(1).Cells.Count
  If LookupRange.Cells(i, 1) = LookupValue Then
  Result = Result & " " & LookupRange.Cells(i, ColumnNumber) & ","
  End If
  Next i
  SingleCellLookup = Left(Result, Len(Result) - 1)
End Function

2. Save excel as xlsm (not necessary, but you will have to add the formula every time in your excel if not saved as xlsm).