Help with writing VBA-- is it possible for the following steps

kd123

Hi,

I am new to VBA and macros but starting investigating to see if it is possible to automate a data cleaning and analysis process that I have to do repeatedly for different excel files.

I was curious if it is possible to automate the following steps:

1. Copy and paste the EDA data from the parent and child into the same excel file (Copying information from one data file into another-- this is something that I would probably have to do myself)
  2. Delete the second and third cells down that have 0 and 4 in their boxes (shift cells up)The first cell is a time stamp; convert it to a time using the following formula: =(A1/86400) + DATE(1970, 1, 1) + (-5/24)
  3. Once this formula is entered, change the cell to a “Time Cell” and you should get a time stamp
  4. Once you have a time stamp for both the child and parent, you want to line up their cells so that they are corresponding to the same part of the interaction. Whoever’s wristband started first will need their EDA data shifted down to align with the other partner (so that the same time is being captured for the partners) To determine how many cells to shift it down, do the following:
    1. Calculate the time difference between when each watch was turned on
    2. Convert that amount of time into seconds
    3. Multiple by the number of second by 4 to get the number of cells
    4. Shift the EDA data that had a earlier start time down by that many cells
  5. Now that the cells are aligned, the next step is to delete invalid data
  6. For both columns of data delete any value below .01
  7. Next, determine when the interaction took place (what data are we going to use).
  8. The end of the interaction should be 20 seconds from the end of the last wristband to be turned off (80 cells), so highlight the interaction beginning 80 cells up and continue for 1680 cells (7*60*4) to get 7 minutes of data