Time Management

oztd61

Hi all, I need some help, please. I am a truck driver and need to record my working hours, rest hours, weekly hours, fortnightly hours plus "long Hours" which are any hours worked after midnight. Not being a wiz with excel even though I use it every day to record just about everything, this project has me stumped.

I can only work 14 hours per day
I can only work 84 hours before a 24 hour break
I can only work 144 hours before having a 24 hours break that must include 2 nights rest off 7 hours between 12 am and 8 am
Plus I can only work 36 "long Hours" (Between 12 midnight and 6 am) per any 144 hour period.

Start time 1010 - Finish time 1318 = 2 hours and 8 minutes.
Start time 1422 - Finish time 1759 = 3 hours and 37 minutes.
Start time 1903 - Finish time 0102 = 5 hours and 59 minutes.

I really need a spread sheet that can work out"-

My Work Hours
My Rest Hours
My Weekly Hours
My Fortnightly Hours
My Long Hours

I would be really appreciative of any help that I can get.

Thanks

oztd61

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Hi Oztd61,
to start off: how will you register your hours and what do you expect the workbook to show? If I may come up with an idea: say you have a table where you fill columns a, b and c with e.g. "trip description", "starting time/date" and "end time/date". That should be all your input I guess. Or do you input something else e.g. a date and 1010 for starttime?
What you than would could calculate is a column with "nr of hours in this trip" and "total nr of workhours in this day". When entering a line, you could check with the line before the "number of hours between this trip and the one before". Basically what you want to do is to chop up the questions you want answered into smaller bits.