Application.GetOpenFilename error

Greenfizz

I'm having new problem with a macro that I have been using for several years. The macro allows me to import data from a prior year spreadsheet into the current version of the spreadsheet form. The problem is intermittent and only seems to occur in specific folders on my laptop.

MyFile = Application.GetOpenFilename()
If MyFile = False Then 'User clicked cancel
Exit Sub
End If

For some reason, the output is being changed from the actual directory. Any idea why the ? is appearing before the BAYCARE - ALL folder name?
Debug.Print MyFile
C:\Road Warrior\1 RSI Clients\1-F\?BAYCARE - ALL\St Joseph's Hospital North\CT\2018\St Joe N Siemens (64) 2018-10-16.xlsm

The correct path should be:
C:\Road Warrior\1 RSI Clients\1-F\‬BAYCARE - ALL\St Joseph's Hospital North\CT\2018\St Joe N Siemens (64) 2018-10-16.xlsm

I would appreciate any insight you might have.

Thank you

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Welcome to the forum

I do not understand why it is happening, but fix should be simple enough
Add a line to remove all question marks before opening the workbook

Untested ..
Code:
MyFile = Replace(MyFile, "?", "")

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Yongle, Thank you for the reply and the welcome.

I thought about implementing a similar fix to the problem that you have posed, but wanted to try and find the cause before implementing the fix. In other forums I have read similar instance of GetOpenFilename or Dir replacing spaces with ?. Were this to happen and I implement the ? removing code it would still error out in the future.

I'll try and determine the cause before implementing the fix to remove the question mark. It's quite odd that this only happens for certain folders and not for several others.

Upvote 0