AVERAGEIF function

willow1985

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

It is my first time using the AverageIf function and I seem to be having trouble getting it to work.

I want the formula to calculate the average of all numbers in sheet "warranty report" column O that have a date of 2019 in column L. The sheet that the formula is on has the date of 2019 in cell B1.

=AVERAGEIF('Warranty Report'!O:O,B1,'Warranty Report'!L:L)

However this formula is giving me a #DIV/0! error.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Carla

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.
Re: Help with AVERAGEIF function

First, generally, it is better to use a reasonably limited range (e.g. $O$1:$O$10000) instead of a whole-column range (O:O).

Second, the #DIV/0 errors means that there is no row that meets the criteria.

In this case, it is because you have the parameters reversed. You can write:

=AVERAGEIF('Warranty Report'!$L$1:$L$10000, B1, 'Warranty Report'!$O$1:$O$10000)
or
=AVERAGEIFS('Warranty Report'!$O$1:$O$10000, 'Warranty Report'!$L$1:$L$10000, B1)

I assume that column L contains just year numbers, not Excel dates that might be formatted to display just the year number.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

I tried a limited range at first but then saw an example online with whole-column ranges so tried that. I see though that I had the averageif and averageifs mixed up. It is working now with the averageif formula you provided.

Thank you very much!

Carla

Last edited:
Upvote 0

I tried a limited range at first but then saw an example online with whole-column ranges so tried that

Yes, I see even so-called Excel "experts" that use them. It is lazy. More importantly, it is the most common cause of the complaint that Excel is "non-responding". Really, Excel is taking an inordinate amount of time to recalculate, which it might do with each edit.