Update columns with summation based on criteria in multiple sheets

jayped

Board Regular
Hello,

I'm not sure if this is possible and I have limited knowledge of macros. Here is what I want to achieve:

I have a Summary Sheet with a list of names and ID numbers vertically and each month of the year horizontally as columns - e.g Jul 2019, Aug 2019, and so on. I will then have a tab for each month with data. A new sheet will be added at the end of each month. In each sheet, let's use 'Sep 2019' for example, will have a column containing amounts, a column containing names, and a column containing ID numbers (Columns J,K & L). I want to be able to run a macro that updates the Sep 2019 column on the Summary sheet by looking up the ID number on the Summary sheet and summing all the amounts that occurred on the Sep 2019 sheet for that ID number.

Thanks!

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Yes it is possible with a macro, for this you can comment exactly where the data is:

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is possible and I have limited knowledge of macros. Here is what I want to achieve:

I have a Summary Sheet with a list of names (In which column?) and ID numbers (In which column?) vertically and each month of the year horizontally (In which row?) as columns - e.g Jul 2019, Aug 2019 (Is it a formatted date or is the text "Jul 2019"?), and so on.

I will then have a tab for each month with data. A new sheet will be added at the end of each month. In each sheet, let's use 'Sep 2019' for example, will have a column containing amounts, a column containing names, and a column containing ID numbers (Columns J,K & L) (In which row do the IDs begin?) .