Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: VBA Help

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm in need of help. I have several excel files with different names and passwords. However I need help in developing a script that will be able to go into each file and extract a range of data and paste it into a central file, where the data will be calculated (statistically). I'm not that good at VBA so step by step instructions will be help ful.

Thanks in advanced,
    Lauren

BatCoder
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

This macro can be written in lots of way. It is also possible to use files without open then directly in excel. This is just one of the ways what you are asking, I hope it helps.

Private Sub myMacro()
    Dim wrkOpened As Workbook
    'I used an array to files and properties
    'First parameter stands for file, 1 to 4 for 4 files
    'Second paramater:
    '1: file name
    '2: password for that file
    '3: worksheet name in file which data will be picked up
    '4: range in the sheet where data located : for this code just one column can be used
    Dim mF(4, 4) As String
    Dim i As Integer
    Dim tmpRows As Long

'Storing file names and file properties described above: assumed all files in same directory with the main file
    mF(1, 1) = "A1.xls": mF(1, 2) = "passA1": mF(1, 3) = "SheetA1": mF(1, 4) = "A1:A4"
    mF(2, 1) = "A2.xls": mF(2, 2) = "passA2": mF(2, 3) = "SheetA2": mF(2, 4) = "A1:A7"
    mF(3, 1) = "A3.xls": mF(3, 2) = "passA3": mF(3, 3) = "SheetA3": mF(3, 4) = "A1:A3"
    mF(4, 1) = "A4.xls": mF(4, 2) = "passA4": mF(4, 3) = "SheetA4": mF(4, 4) = "A1:A6"

'We will open each excel file in this loop
    For i = 1 To 4
    'Open the password protected excel file
    Set wrkOpened = Application.Workbooks.Open(mF(i, 1), , , , mF(i, 2))
    'Activate the main workbook : not necessary if range.select isnot used, cells property can be used easily instead