VBA Help

AcTiVation

I'm in need of help. I have several excel files with different names and passwords. However I need help in developing a script that will be able to go into each file and extract a range of data and paste it into a central file, where the data will be calculated (statistically). I'm not that good at VBA so step by step instructions will be help ful.

Thanks in advanced,
Lauren

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
This macro can be written in lots of way. It is also possible to use files without open then directly in excel. This is just one of the ways what you are asking, I hope it helps.

Private Sub myMacro()
Dim wrkOpened As Workbook
'I used an array to files and properties
'First parameter stands for file, 1 to 4 for 4 files
'Second paramater:
'1: file name
'2: password for that file
'3: worksheet name in file which data will be picked up
'4: range in the sheet where data located : for this code just one column can be used
Dim mF(4, 4) As String
Dim i As Integer
Dim tmpRows As Long

'Storing file names and file properties described above: assumed all files in same directory with the main file
mF(1, 1) = "A1.xls": mF(1, 2) = "passA1": mF(1, 3) = "SheetA1": mF(1, 4) = "A1:A4"
mF(2, 1) = "A2.xls": mF(2, 2) = "passA2": mF(2, 3) = "SheetA2": mF(2, 4) = "A1:A7"
mF(3, 1) = "A3.xls": mF(3, 2) = "passA3": mF(3, 3) = "SheetA3": mF(3, 4) = "A1:A3"
mF(4, 1) = "A4.xls": mF(4, 2) = "passA4": mF(4, 3) = "SheetA4": mF(4, 4) = "A1:A6"

'We will open each excel file in this loop
For i = 1 To 4
'Open the password protected excel file
Set wrkOpened = Application.Workbooks.Open(mF(i, 1), , , , mF(i, 2))
'Activate the main workbook : not necessary if range.select isnot used, cells property can be used easily instead
ThisWorkbook.Activate
'tmprows stores the last cell row when data picked up and written into the main document