VBA to hide a row

jeffmfrank

Board Regular
I'm a VBA rookie so I apologize if this is a simple procedure. What kind of code should I use to have a sheet automatically hide rows where the value in the column T for that row is "Y"? Can this always be running so that if "Y" changes to "N", the row is no longer hidden? Thanks.

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
Sorry, I meant Conditional formatting. Select the first cell of your first row of data. I'm assuming A1 for this example. Choose FORMAT > Conditional formatting.
Change Cell value is to Formula is and put =$T1="Y" in the formula box. then click on format and set the font color to the same as the background color for the cell. Click OK twice. Copy the cell and then paste Special Format to all the cells in that row you want to format.When there is a Y in column T the data in that row will be "invisible". You can copy the format to all the cells in your range.

This formula will only hide data when col T is = Y or y. If you only want it to be visible if the user puts an N in col T use =$T1<>"N" for the formula

Upvote 0
but I actually need to hide the rows, not just the text in the row. The formula in the T column recognizes that there is nothing in the row accomplished with my if statement retuning a "Y" (or "N" if there is somehthing in the row and it shouldn't be hidden - ie should be printed.)

I need the sheet to shrink down horizontally as much as possible automatically - not just hide the text from view. Sorry I should have clarified. I wish conditional formatting included "Hide Row" as a condition, but it doesn't seem to. Thanks for your suggestion, though.

Upvote 0
On 2002-03-06 11:18, jeffmfrank wrote: