Worksheet Range Protection

jscott

I'm trying to protect a certain range of cells in a worksheet from within Access.

My code is below:

Dim objExcel As Excel.Application
Dim objWB As Excel.Workbook
Dim objWS As Worksheet
Dim intColumn As Integer
Dim intRow As Integer
Dim intRecords As Integer

Set objExcel = Excel.Application
objWS.Unprotect
objWS.Protection.AllowEditRanges.Add Title:="Classified", Range:=Range("$A$2:$D$65536"), Password:=""

objWS.Columns.AutoFit
objWS.Protect
objWB.SaveAs strFileName

I get a method or data member not found on the objws.protection line.

I am referencing the Excel 8.0 object library.

Can anyone help?? I'd really appreciate it. I'm new to the Excel object model!

Thanks!
Jeanine Scott

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
On 2002-03-07 08:16, jscott wrote:
I'm trying to protect a certain range of cells in a worksheet from within Access.

My code is below:

Dim objExcel As Excel.Application
Dim objWB As Excel.Workbook
Dim objWS As Worksheet
Dim intColumn As Integer
Dim intRow As Integer
Dim intRecords As Integer

Set objExcel = Excel.Application
objWS.Unprotect
objWS.Protection.AllowEditRanges.Add Title:="Classified", Range:=Range("$A$2:$D$65536"), Password:=""

objWS.Columns.AutoFit
objWS.Protect
objWB.SaveAs strFileName

I get a method or data member not found on the objws.protection line.

I am referencing the Excel 8.0 object library.

Can anyone help?? I'd really appreciate it. I'm new to the Excel object model!

Thanks!
Jeanine Scott

In Excel, to protect a specific range of cells, you first need to "lock" the cells and then protect the worksheet.

So something like this should work in your case:

<pre>
objWS.Range("$A$2:$D$65536").Locked = True
objWS.Protect PassWord:="", DrawingObjects:=True, Contents:=True, Scenarios:=True
</pre>

This code would be instead of your two protect lines.

HTH