Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pivot Table - Calc Variance

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a pivot table that accurately reflects actual spending and forecasted spending by account for a series of organizations/departments. I am finding it difficult to insert a calculated field that will show the difference (variance) between the actual and forecast for each month.

    The table is laid out as follows I need to add a column under each month (same level as type) to run this calc.

    Month : Type(Act & Fcst)
    Organization
    Group
    Dept

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    please help!

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Insert a Calculated Item using the formula, =Act-Fcst.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mark,

    When I insert the calculated field (Act-Fcst). It drops the field into a row, not a column. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    122
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    isnt variance the standard deviation squared? i got d maths formula if u want it? im doin A level maths?

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-03-07 11:00, Sleever wrote:
    Mark,

    When I insert the calculated field (Act-Fcst). It drops the field into a row, not a column. Any ideas?
    Don't use a Calculated Field... use a Calculated Item

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-03-07 11:23 ]

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-03-07 11:00, Sleever wrote:
    Mark,

    When I insert the calculated field (Act-Fcst). It drops the field into a row, not a column. Any ideas?
    Don't use a Calculated Field... use a Calculated Item

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-03-07 11:23 ]
    How do I find the appropriate Calculated Item?

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •