Time Calculation and Conversion

griggsbgsu

Okay, I'm fairly good with Excel, but I'm no expert. I've ran into a wall and I can't figure out what to do, so hopefully someone can help. Feel free to email me: saragrigsby@yahoo.com

Here is my problem. I have a worksheet setup where I keep track of the hours that I work and the pay I receive. It's worked quite well for the most part, but there is one case that doesn't work.

I have it setup so I enter my clock-in time and my clock-out time and it calculates the number of hours I worked and then calculates my pay and so on. The problem is with calculating the hours that I've worked. I enter my clock-in time in one cell, my clock-out time in another, and here is the formula I use to calculate the hours: =TEXT(B2-A2, "hh:mm"). I enter my times in this format: 5:30 PM for example.

Here is where I run into problems. The formula works fine when my hours are in the same day, for example: 5:30 PM to 10:30 PM. BUT, if my hours are say: 5:30 PM to 12:30 AM, then I get an error in my formula. This happens when my clock-out time runs past 12AM.

I've gotten suggestions to use the 24 hour time format: 15:30, but I'd rather use the standard 12 hour format. I've searched everywhere. I really hope someone has some suggestions for me. Thank you :)

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
On 2002-03-08 16:08, griggsbgsu wrote:
Okay, I'm fairly good with Excel, but I'm no expert. I've ran into a wall and I can't figure out what to do, so hopefully someone can help. Feel free to email me: saragrigsby@yahoo.com

Here is my problem. I have a worksheet setup where I keep track of the hours that I work and the pay I receive. It's worked quite well for the most part, but there is one case that doesn't work.