VLOOKUP

sm2200

Board Regular
I have experience using VLOOKUP in Lotus and Symphony. Now I want to use a VLOOKUP in Excel but I'm running into a problem. To isolate the problem I set up a very simple basic VLOOKUP array and VLOOKUP column and still am getting incorrect readings. It is a very very simple array and I can't figure out the problem. As I said I'm new to Excel.
I believe emailing the array to anyone interested in finding the problem would be the simplest (only) way to figure it out. Let me know your email address and I'll send it.
Thanks,
Sam Marx

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
On 2002-03-09 09:36, sm2200 wrote:
I have experience using VLOOKUP in Lotus and Symphony. Now I want to use a VLOOKUP in Excel but I'm running into a problem. To isolate the problem I set up a very simple basic VLOOKUP array and VLOOKUP column and still am getting incorrect readings. It is a very very simple array and I can't figure out the problem. As I said I'm new to Excel.
I believe emailing the array to anyone interested in finding the problem would be the simplest (only) way to figure it out. Let me know your email address and I'll send it.
Thanks,
Sam Marx

Sam, go ahead and e-mail the spreadsheet. For an explanation of Excel VLOOKUP you might want to look at:

http://ca.geocities.com/b_davidso/Web_Page_Files/Excel/lookup.html#VLOOK

Regards,

Upvote 0
On 2002-03-09 09:36, sm2200 wrote:
Thanks,
Sam Marx

Sam,

Consider the following sample

{1,2.3;2,2.4;3,8.7;5,2.1;6,3.5}

in A2:B6. That is, A2 houses 1, B2 2.3, A3 2, etc.

Suppose you want to retrieve the value associated with 4 from the above "table". The range A2:B6 is as it were a 2-column table.

Put this 4, which is a lookup value, in C2.

In D2 enter:

[1]

=VLOOKUP(C2,$A$2:$B$6,2)

In E2 enter:

[2]

=VLOOKUP(C2,$A$2:$B$6,2,0)