Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Excell VBA

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am using a third party addin in Excell. I would like to access it's funcion programatically but I don't know how to identify the object in order to execute it's function from code. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    [ This Message was edited by: Eugene on 2002-03-09 09:42 ]

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Barrie Davidson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,330
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-03-09 09:41, Eugene wrote:
    I am using a third party addin in Excell. I would like to access it's funcion programatically but I don't know how to identify the object in order to execute it's function from code. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    [ This Message was edited by: Eugene on 2002-03-09 09:42 ]
    A quick cheat - have you tried recording a macro that accesses your add-in and then take a look at the code generated by Excel?



    _________________

    Barrie Davidson
    My Excel Web Page

    [ This Message was edited by: Barrie Davidson on 2002-03-09 09:56 ]

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,940
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well assuming it can be accessed programmatically then you just need to set a reference to the add-in on the Tools, References menu item in the VB editor. Then in code you'd do something like this:-

    AddinName.MethodName (the procedure you want to run from the code)


    HTH,
    D

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,940
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well assuming it can be accessed programmatically then you just need to set a reference to the add-in on the Tools, References menu item in the VB editor. Then in code you'd do something like this:-

    AddinName.MethodName (the procedure you want to run from the code)


    HTH,
    D

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,940
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well assuming it can be accessed programmatically then you just need to set a reference to the add-in on the Tools, References menu item in the VB editor. Then in code you'd do something like this:-

    AddinName.MethodName (the procedure you want to run from the code)


    HTH,
    D

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,940
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry, don't know what happened there - is the board behaving badly today (i.e. quite slow to load) or is it just me?

    Regards,
    Dan

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •