Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Format Help needed

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does anyone know if there is a way to spit out all the formatting and formula info for a row? What I would like to do is be able format an entire row on the fly if a user clicks on a row that is not formated.

    thanks John

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Help...Oh! Help

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    11,959
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your post isn't clear for me. Can you be a little more explicit ?
    Regards,

    Juan Pablo González
    http://www.juanpg.com

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sure Juan,

    I have a sheet that each row has formulas and formats that are constant. the only exception of course is referencing. I want to copy all the formating to VBA code, so I can make and add-in that will automatically format a header in the first row, and then format the second row with the above formulas and formats. Then I was thinking that after the initialization above, if a user clicks on a row that is not formated, excel would automatically format that row..like the first row...minus any data the user puts in. Is that possible?

    thanks John

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    11,959
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, one easy way.

    Copy one "formatted" row into the new one. Then, delete all values (You can select special constants if you want to keep formulas) and you have a "clean" row.
    Regards,

    Juan Pablo González
    http://www.juanpg.com

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thats the idea I have when I have at least one row like that...How do I copy all that formating to VBA so that a blank sheet can be initialized like that

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    11,959
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That's the part that sucks. You can "record" a macro while you format each cell, but, there's no direct way of taking the formating. Something are just SO easy to do manually in Excel, but, yet, so long to do in VBA...
    Regards,

    Juan Pablo González
    http://www.juanpg.com

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thats what I was trying to avoid...Reformatting all that just to record a macro...LOL Thanks anyway juan. I wish there was a way to save a row as a formated code

  9. #9
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    11,959
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can't you hide a preformatted row ? and then, you can copy THAT row...
    Regards,

    Juan Pablo González
    http://www.juanpg.com

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sure can, but thats square 2. Back at square 1, we have a blank sheet. The addin will take a blank sheet and format it with a header row and the next row with the formulas and formats I have tested in anotehr workbook. The idea is that when the addin is loaded, if the sheet is clean, format it like above, else do nothing to it.

    Thanks

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •