Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Listboxes value

  1. #1
    Guest

    Default

    Im using a code that reads the value in a listbox on a userform. My problem is that the code doesnt read the value unless the user clicks the text in the list box. Is there anyway of getting around this. Im using the code below-Private Sub CommandButton3_Click()

    Me.Hide
    Sheets("BALANCE SHEET").Select
    Rows("4:9141").EntireRow.Hidden = True
    v = ActiveWorkbook.CustomDocumentProperties("list").Value
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    For Each C In Worksheets("BALANCE SHEET").Range("a4:a9141") ' Adjust your range if necessary
    If C.Value = v Then
    C.Rows.EntireRow.Hidden = False
    End If
    Next C
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
    ActiveWindow.SmallScroll Down:=-1
    Module7.compbar
    Unload Me
    End Sub



    Private Sub addbutton_Click()
    ListBox2.AddItem ListBox1.Value
    End Sub

    Private Sub deletebutton_click()
    If ListBox2.ListIndex = -1 Then Exit Sub
    ListBox2.RemoveItem ListBox2.ListIndex

    End Sub

    Private Sub ListBox2_click()
    ActiveWorkbook.CustomDocumentProperties("list").Value = ListBox2.Value
    End Sub

    The addbutton adds a selection from listbox1 to listbox2, then using the commandbutton3_click() its supposed to do its thing, but it won't becouse the code is not reading a value from listbox2 unless the user clicks the item in listbox2, then clicks commandbutton_click3(). Have any sugestions?





  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Russell Hauf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Portland, OR Area - USA
    Posts
    1,607
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    First of all, I want to thank you for putting all of your code in your post!

    Do you get an error or does your code just not do what it should? At first blush, I'd quess that this is what's at the root of your problem:

    Private Sub ListBox2_click()
    ActiveWorkbook.CustomDocumentProperties("list").Value = ListBox2.Value
    End Sub

    This sets the custom property - so the user must click in ListBox2's list to get this to happen, correct?

    If you're getting an error, click Debug and tell me what line it goes to. If you are not getting an error, tell me what does happen when it doesn't do what you want.

    Thank you,

    rh

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Russell- Give me some time, get back to you a little later!

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP Russell Hauf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Portland, OR Area - USA
    Posts
    1,607
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'll be here. I'm trying to help you, remember?

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Didnt mean to sound that way, sorry-
    Ok,I do not get an error, It works as it should as long as I click on the text in the listbox2. But becouse im using commandbutton3_click() as the command to have the code work I dont want to have the user to have to click on the listbox2 and then click the commandbutton3(). Its redundant(cant spell that). So how do you have the user just click on commandbutton3() and have the CustomDocumentProperties("list").Value read listbox2 without actually clicking(highlighting) it?
    Thanks, Todd

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey Russell, If you get a chance can you help me with this question?
    Thanks Todd

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Russell Hauf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Portland, OR Area - USA
    Posts
    1,607
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    By definition, a listbox contains a list. So if nothing is selected, it does not have a value. If you want something that will only hold one value, use a textbox. But you can set the custom document properties from anywhere (ActiveWorkbook.CustomDocumentProperties("list").Value = ListBox2.Value ) -- again keeping in mind that for ListBox2 to have a value, there must be an item in ListBox2 selected.

    If this doesn't help, send me the workbook with step by step instructions of what I should do to get the incorrect result (and maybe instructions on how you do get the desired result).

    -rh

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •