The incredible growing file!

noahcount

Newbie here! Nice board..., shoulda been here years ago! I have a file that contains 4 queries and some financial statement type ranges that I publish to a website with VB. The processing time for the file/code has increased gradually over the year as well as the file size. Started @ 500k and grew to 5,000+k in 6 months. Excel 2000 and Win2000 pro. The only changes to the file have been from daily updates to the queries which only contain summary data. The file has slowed to the point of hanging the system. I copied the queries, code, and print ranges to a new file and it flies again. What gives?

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
Couple of possibilities:

Still saving it as a xl2000 file? Also, are you building up layers of named ranges as time passes?

Food for thought. Cheers, Nate

Upvote 0
Just a thought...how do you check/insure that the change history and/or undo stack are cleared at file closing?

Upvote 0
Also, check to see if the application is adding links to some other workbook(s).

Or, in your macro code you may be keeping variables, try to use and then destruct variables. Define variables by type and use. JSW

Upvote 0
The value of a variable may change over its lifetime, but it retains some value. When a variable loses scope, it no longer has a value. Each element of a user-defined type variable is initialized as if it were a separate variable.When you declare an object variable, space is reserved in memory, but its value is set to Nothing until you assign an object reference to it using the Set statement.

If the value of a variable isn't changed during the running of your code, it retains its initialized value until it loses scope.