Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is it poss to resize sheet to "400 col by 2000 rows

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Leicestershire, U K
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I would love to be able to resize one of my sheet to approx 400c x 2k rows.
    If it is, how?, and would the code reside with in the file as I have to distribute file within the org.
    kk

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Georgia USA
    Posts
    569
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry the Maximum worksheet size is 65,536 rows by 256 columns

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi--

    Try transpose and so different way of working, i have been forced to do this before -

    Else -- split over 2 or more sheets

    HTH
    Rdgs
    ==========
    Jack

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Leicestershire, U K
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks JAck,
    I do split over many sheets. It is that I am having hassle in trying to substitute a variable in a cell reference on a nother page.
    Hopefully will post my problem later


  5. #5
    Guest

    Default

    How hard have you tried to reduce the column count? Are a lot of borders turned on?

    Is it possible that use of right-justify and left-justify could achieve psuedo-columns for you? How many of your columns end up being merged together?

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Leicestershire, U K
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I cannot transpose as I require 20000 rows plus 400 cols. Others will be using the model and therefore simplicity is the key

    I have already split the sheets as is the norm.
    If any one find a code please advise.

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Barrie Davidson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,330
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Don't mean to rain on the Excel parade, but have you thought about using Access (or another database program)?

    Barrie Davidson

    "You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it." - Robin Williams

  8. #8
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Leicestershire, U K
    Posts
    160
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Our IT dept do not want to pay for licences for 450 people.

    Although we are 95 % Bill Gates dbases are frowned upon As we have our own IT dept. (Laugh I nearly died)




  9. #9
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Keith --

    I agree but did not want to say as Barrie has, your streatching Excel Shes lovley and sexy and all but suffers if you make her carry to much shopping.

    She will be just fin if you split as you have but then its power of your PC..

    Access has limits as well so its a trade of, i dont feel Access can allow the ciustom (whatever you like) as Excel will. VBA in Access is just as good, but i know no one that does this..

    Good luck, pacic if Excel grinds to a halt.

    TOP tip--- make regula back up in case it suffers heart attack!

    HTH
    Rdgs
    ==========
    Jack

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •