Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can I add a search engine to my form?

  1. #1
    Guest

    Default

    I have a form which is quite huge. Is there anyway I can add a search engine to my form where the user would search for an account number, find the row where the account number is and make any necessary amendments??

    Thanks

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny, spring-like Hull
    Posts
    3,339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Would the Autofilter function work OK for you?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't know if it would work - as I am not well versed in this Visual Basic- Could you tell me what it would do?

    Carol

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Chippenham, UK
    Posts
    144
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On Menu

    Data > Filter > AutoFilter
    Regards,

    Gary Hewitt-Long

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Al Chara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    1,701
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The following code searches for a variable called AccountNumber and activates the cell:

    Cells.Find(What:=AccountNumber, After:=Range("A1"),LookIn:=xlValues, LookAt:=xlWhole, SearchOrder:=xlByColumns,SearchDirection:=xlNext, MatchCase:=False).Activate

    I hope this helps.
    Kind regards, Al.

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny, spring-like Hull
    Posts
    3,339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's not a visual basic function . Try clicking on the first cell in your data list and then select Data-Filter-Autofilter from the excel main toolbar. A set of drop-down arrows should then appear. Click on an arrow in the column in which you want to find a value and either scroll down to it on the dropdown list or use a custom autofilter. This will then just show the rows you want to modify. Click back on the arrow and select All to show all your data. Might be OK for you ....

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Cape Town,South Africa
    Posts
    234
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hello there from
    ҿ⌐

    Suggest you use the autofilter function my friend

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •