Trying to use a cell value to reference another cell

kwaring

For example, if i have the value 5 in B1 and i want to use that value to reference a cell in column C, ie the formula for A1 is something like:

=C(B1)

obviously that doesn't work, but i hope you get the just of it.
Thanks!

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Hi

You need the INDIRECT function

=INDIRECT("C"&B1)

I am trying to put together a sheet that uses a lot of the INDIRECT function. Using a similar example to your above one =INDIRECT("C"&$B$1) is there a way to make the "C" changeable when dragging the function to apply to other cells? I want to apply the same formula to other columns, but it needs to reference the appropriate column rather than always "C". Same goes for rows.

I apologize for any poor terminology. I am fairly new to what to call things in Excel.

Upvote 0
Best to avoid INDIRECT() if possible, an alternative for the example given (that alters as the formula is coped across) would be:

=INDEX(C:C,$B$1)

You may need to give the details if this does not suffice.

Upvote 0
The portion of the formula I am having trouble with is:

=SUMSQ(COLUMNS(INDIRECT("A"&$AW$5):INDIRECT($AV$5&"3"))-1,ROWS(INDIRECT("A"&$AW$5):INDIRECT($AV$5&"3"))-1)

It works perfectly in one cell, but I would like to copy it to other cells easily which I can't do because of the portions that are in quotations. Is there a way to make that happen?

Upvote 0
A brief description of what you have in the cells in question, and the expected result as you drag the formula to other cells would greatly increase your chances of getting a solid solution.

Upvote 0
A brief description of what you have in the cells in question, and the expected result as you drag the formula to other cells would greatly increase your chances of getting a solid solution.