Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Date Table --one variable

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How can select "row input cell" or "column input cell" ? every time I selected the input cell, it didn't work, said " the input cell reference is not valid". Please help. Thanks

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here's an example of a 1-input columnar data table...

    1. Enter {1;2;3;4;5} into cells A3:A7
    2. Enter the table formula, =PRODUCT(5,A1), into cell B2.
    3. Select cells A2:B7 and choose the Data | Table... menu command where you'll enter A1 as the column input cell.

    This produces a x5 multiplication table.

    For more on data tables consult the Help topic, "Create a one-variable data table".

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-03-18 14:00 ]

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    if A1 is the column input cell, what is the row input cell? Thanks. Also should i define the select range {A3:B7}?

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    if A1 is the column input cell, what is the row input cell?
    A 1-input table either has a column or a row input -- not both; otherwise, it'd be a 2-input table.

    Also should i define the select range {A3:B7}?
    No, the selected range should include the table formula in B2. Use A2:B7.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    tried again,
    A1---Row input cell
    $A$2:$B$7 ---Column input cell, it doesn't work, where am I doing wrong with?

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-03-18 11:59, WYTT wrote:
    tried again,
    A1---Row input cell
    $A$2:$B$7 ---Column input cell, it doesn't work, where am I doing wrong with?
    Since the table data is in a single column (column oriented) A1 is a column input -- not a row input. Review the steps listed in my initial reply posting. Also, take another look at steps 2 and 5 of the Help Index topic for "Create a one-variable data table".

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •