Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hyperlink column?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I thought there was a setting that would make an entire column, or whatever range I chose, into a hyperlink. Is there?

    If not, how can I set it to where all data that I put into a certain column is hyperlinked? I am tired of the manual process of having to duplicate work on a cell to get it linked.

    Thank you,

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not quite sure what you are trying to do. Can you clarify

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sure. I am inputing our client's web addresses into a column in a database I am creating and, for some reason, am having to go back in and create the link, even if I have copied and pasted the link directly from the web.

    In other words, for each cell in column H where I am inputing the address, I have to go Insert/Hyperlink/Type the webpage name in order to make the link live.

    I know there has got to be a better way, but I just can't find it this morning.

    Thanks again,

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny, spring-like Hull
    Posts
    3,339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Autofill should work OK for this (I hope ). Or copy one hyperlink cell, select the entire column, then paste.

    [ This Message was edited by: Mudface on 2002-03-18 08:43 ]

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I didn't seem to work.

    I went to Tools/Options/Custom Lists/Import from a previous cell, and nothing happened.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks,

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny, spring-like Hull
    Posts
    3,339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah, that's a bit wierd, just messing around and it died on me too. I got it working again, by selecting the entire column, choosing insert hyperlink and selecting the URL. Very odd.

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Millbank, London, UK
    Posts
    1,790
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    J Lowe,

    (I assume you're not Jennifer Lopez!)

    are you havinn to put the same hyperlink address into each cell in the column ?

    ie :

    http://www.mrexcel.com
    http://www.mrexcel.com
    http://www.mrexcel.com
    http://www.mrexcel.com
    http://www.mrexcel.com
    http://www.mrexcel.com
    http://www.mrexcel.com

    or do you mean a column of different web addresses ?


    edit....

    Mudface, typing in the hyperlink and setting it up via insert/hyperlink then copy pasting or autofill works for me too (97)

    J Lowe - could you type the single adress in row 1, create the hyperlink and then select the whole of the column (or your vertical range) and merge it, setting the vertical alignment to "top" ?

    this effectively makes that column a single cell which will hyperlink when clicked on...

    [ This Message was edited by: Chris Davison on 2002-03-19 15:38 ]

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •