Help With Lookup Formula

Harley

I've never used the Lookup function before and I need some help setting this up (I'm assuming that I will be using Lookup).

Worksheet 1, Column A will contain a complete list of approx. 100 commercial titles. Column B will have the corresponding categories for each commercial title.

In Worksheet 2. Column A will be a random list of the commercial titles (all of which are already entered in Worksheet 1, Column A). Rather than manually typing the categories in Column B, I would like to use the lookup function to have these categories entered automatically by referencing the titles and categories in worksheet 1.

When the commercial title in Worksheet 2, Column A matches the commercial title in Worksheet 1, Column A, I would like the category that appears in Worksheet 1, Column B to be automatically entered in Worksheet 2, Column B.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

Excel Facts

Last used cell?
Press Ctrl+End to move to what Excel thinks is the last used cell.
vlookup is one formula you can fall in love with very quickly!

Basically, the formula looks like this
=vlookup(value,range,column,type)

What it's saying is
"look up this value in that range, when you find it, go over to this column and bring back either exactly what's in it or as close to what's in it as possible."

So, on your first worksheet, in cell B1, you'll enter =VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet2!$A$1:$B$10,2,FALSE) and then drag it down
until it fills every cell in column B that
has a value in column A.

The dollar signs will keep the range the same, while the value A1 will change to A2,
A3, etc, all the way down through the drag.

The 2 means it will count over to the 2nd
column (including the 1st column in which
the matching value is found on your sheet2)...

And false means it will only work on an
exact match. (using true is very handy for
other applications, but more often than not
false is the common type).

Do check your help file for vlookup, it is