Disreguard this post

L

Legacy 98055

I know it is possible with ADO, but maybe someone here can show me an easier way to accomplish the following.

I have a master workbook which will be in charge of updating multiple other workbooks.

What I would like to do is to update the workbooks without opening them.

I have found multiple examples of updating the open workbook with data from a closed workbook. How about the other way around?

Can I send data to a closed workbook?

If you know the syntax, please post an example of sending info from ActiveWorkbookMaster.xls Range A:1 to ClosedExample.xls cell B:1

I really appreciate the help!

Have a nice day!

Tom
This message was edited by TsTom on 2002-03-26 19:06

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Hi Tom

I am afraid that VBA code cannot send data to cells on a Worksheet in a Closed Workbook.

Would it matter if you reversed this and pulled in the data from a closed Workbook when you open it? I say this because, unless the Workbook is opened it shouldn't matter whether it has had new data entered.

Upvote 0
On 2002-03-25 01:33, Dave Hawley wrote:
Hi Tom
I am afraid that VBA code cannot send data to cells on a Worksheet in a Closed Workbook.

Would it matter if you reversed this and pulled in the data from a closed Workbook when you open it? I say this because, unless the Workbook is opened it shouldn't matter whether it has had new data entered.

"unless the Workbook is opened it shouldn't matter whether it has had new data entered."

It could matter if there was a link to the closed workbook in some other workbook.

If it does matter, why not open/update/close each workbook?
This message was edited by Adcb on 2002-03-25 04:27

Upvote 0
Thanks Guys