protect from being pirated

Billm

Board Regular
I'm a novice to VB but I hope you can help me. I have written an Excel spreadsheet which I want to distribute to people .. but I want to restrict it from being copied or sent to 3rd parties. Is there a way of coding something in VB that can stop this ?

I was thinking along the lines maybe of extracting some info from the registered users windows registry and incorporating this into their copy of the spreadsheet .. or password .. thus if that copy is run on another computer .. then it wouldnt load the spreadsheet.

Any ideas .. or are there plug-ins that can do this sort of stuff.

Thanks
Bill

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
thanks .. it looks like I can password protect the VBA code from that link .. but what I was really looking for .. is a way to stop the spreadsheet from running if it has been illegally copied and is being attempted to run on another computer.

Upvote 0
I asked that question before myself. I was told that you could take some of the imformation that opperates your worksheet out and put it into a ( .dll ) file. But since I know nothing about programing dll's, Im back at square 1. Maby you could find a programer that could do this for you.

Upvote 0
After I set the password and come back into VBA, I can still see the VB code and can still edit it. Is there something else i need to do to protect it? any help would be great. Thanks.

Greg

Upvote 0
Hi
Use a dll.
xlVeryHidden all of your sheets.
Lock your project.
Call the dll to make your sheets visible.
This will stop most people.
They can copy your workbook but cannot see it.
Can cutomize dll for each registered license.
Will need VB, C++, ect to compile dll.
Tom
This message was edited by TsTom on 2002-03-25 00:57

Upvote 0
Hi