Very Basic Help

Lisamariex

I’m a total beginner at Excel and I know this is trivial to you Excelologists, but I want to analyze keno #s for my grandma. I have winning #s in a spreadsheet. (20 #s per game (in columns) and 1000+ games (in rows). What I want to find out is how many times a number shows up with another number. What do I do?
Thanks in advance...

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
On 2002-03-25 21:22, Lisamariex wrote:
I’m a total beginner at Excel and I know this is trivial to you Excelologists, but I want to analyze keno #s for my grandma. I have winning #s in a spreadsheet. (20 #s per game (in columns) and 1000+ games (in rows). What I want to find out is how many times a number shows up with another number. What do I do?
Thanks in advance...

Hi Lisamariex:
Welcome to the Board, and how about that 'Excologists'!
It will help if you can post some sample data about the games and the winning numbers. I am not familiar with the keno game but I am sure others who traverse this board are -- but posting some sample data will help!

Upvote 0
Yogi,

Keno is a game where there are ping pong balls numbered 1 - 80. 20 balls are drawn for each game. A wager is placed and payoffs are determined by the number of correct balls drawn from the 20.

Upvote 0
On 2002-03-25 21:49, Brian from Maui wrote:
Yogi,

Keno is a game where there are ping pong balls numbered 1 - 80. 20 balls are drawn for each game. A wager is placed and payoffs are determined by the number of correct balls drawn from the 20.

Hello there Brian:
Thanks for the info -- it still does not mean that I understand the game -- well I guess because I am not into games!

Upvote 0
Hello Lisamariex

Let's say you have your number in Column A, in B1 put:

=Countif($A$:$A$5000,A1)

Then just copy this down.