Retrieving Data Using Excel

ChompGator

Board Regular
Hey,

I have a `master` listing that has a list of material on it.
Lets call it test.xls

Each employee has their own work work-book with only one sheet inside the work book, lets call this test1.xls

I want users to be able to add information in test1.xls and the list test.xls automatically gets updated

What kind of formula do I use for this?

- Jeff

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).
If I hear you correctly, your master list has all items, but each individual workbook may have a sub-set of those items? If the master list is all items, then you should be able to do a V-lookup. Put the V-lookup formula in your master file and grab the updated data from each of the workbooks.

How many individual workbooks do you have? I did something like this a while back. I had 5 different workbooks and I needed my Vlookup formula to know which workbook to go look at. I could do this with one formula. Let me know if this is what your looking to do and I can explain further.

Upvote 0
Go ahead with the Formula, - there are 15 workbooks.

And this is how it will be set up (just an example) - This is how the master work book will look.

Richard
<Richards information coming from his own workbook>

John
<Johns information coming from his own workbook>

Kevin
<Kevins information coming from his own workbook>

Smith
<Smiths information coming from his own workbook>

Each users information comes from their work book that they fill out and just save...Once they save their individual work book, if I want to find out any of their information, I just look at the Master Workbook, instead of me having to go look through individual workbooks.

- Jeff

Upvote 0
How are the items organized? I'll need to know a little more about the data, but I'll give it a shot