Moving Conditional data from column to column

jlbecker67

Maybe this is simple, but I am not very good with excel. I want to write a formula to move data to another cell based on certain criteria.
Example: I have a spreadsheet with our county's property tax values with addresses. The addresses didn't split into columns right. Sometimes the street (st) got moved to the wrong column because there wasn't a direction on the address. How do I move all these two letter designations to the right columns without a lot of time?

Thank you very much,
Jerry

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Couple of ways to do this:

Let's say your data is in A1:K1000

Add a column L with a formula: =IF(LEN(G2)=2,"MOVE ME","OK ALREADY"). Copy this formula from L2 to L3:L1000.

In column M, add a sequence number that runs from 1 in Cell M2 to 999 in M1000.

Sort A1:M1000 by column L. You now have all of the "wrong" records in a block at the top of the worksheet. Once they are in a block, you can Cut and paste from G2:G100 to H2:H100.

Then, sort A1:M1000 by column M to get everything back in the right order. Delete your columns L & M.

(The other way is with a VBA macro - the above is simpler, unless you have to do this every day)

Bill

This message was edited by MrExcel on 2002-03-27 19:47

Upvote 0
Hi jlbecker67:
Another variation towards the end of the excellent solution proposed by Bill, after you have got all the addresses corrected, and say your State Column is in the wrong order ...
see sample below:

1name 2street 4state 3city 5zip
Smith 101 Bay MI Detroit 48226
Keller 200 Kelly OH Akron 11111
Baylor 111 Kate MI Troy 48098

The right order would of entries would have been
1name
2street
3city
4state
5zip