still having problems filter?

edsjr

I have 2 files, one with about 27000 lines and the other with 30,000. Each line is different but the one with 30,000 has all of the ones that the one with 27,000 plus an extra 3000. I need to match up the similar lines between the 2 files. Each file contains the same 4 columns that are unique to the line they are on. I have tried filtering without luck but I am new with that function so I am not sure I did it correctly.

anyone have any ideas?

thank you, this is extremely important

Ed.

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
Not sure i understand what you are asking? Do you want to find the 3000 extra lines or the 27000 that are the same? Do you wish to delete the extras, or the duplicates?

Upvote 0
I want to find the extra 3000 lines and seperate them out. More importantly I want to put like cells next to each other, which would also point out the extra 3000.

Each file has 4 columns, they represent the same things in both files. One is a manufacturer, one is a part number, one is the unit of measure and one is the price. I want to see which part numbers are in both files and compare the prices between the 2 files.

hope this clears it up and i really hope you have a solution.

Upvote 0
I think VLOOKUP is going to save your day.

Can be used for both of the suggested solutions.

Quick tutorial then, you have:

sheet1: 30K rows
sheet2: 27K rows, all of which in sheet1

ok, first select your dataset on sheet2 and give it a name, eg."source". This can be done by typing the name into the namebox (located to the left of the formula bar). Ensure that the first column that you select is the key info that matches to the other sheet, like the part number, other columns must be to the right of this info and would include unit of measure or price.