excel to word?

nancyo

I am just learning about excel and macros. Is it possible to write a macro from an excel spreadsheet to copy the spreadsheet into a word document? This would need to be from a specific file (in a certain directory) to a specific word doc (in a specific directory).

The trick is that the excel file would be used over and over with different information each time, and this information would need to go to the corresponding new word doc each time.???

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
Do you really need a macro?

Can you just insert the Excel spreadsheet into Word using:

Insert|Object "Create from file" then browsing to your spreadsheet and making sure that "link to file" is checked? This will update your Word document whenever the spreadsheet is updated.

HTH

Upvote 0
Hi,

This code copies the usedrange on Sheet1 from a specified file and pastes it into a specified Word document.

IMPORTANT: You need to go to Tools, References in the VB editor and make sure the Microsoft Word n.x Object Library is checked. n.x will depend on the version you're using - for Word 2000 it 9.0.

HTH,
Dan

Code:
Sub PasteToWord()
Dim wdApp As Word.Application, wdDoc As Word.Document

Dim strSourceFile As String, strDestFile As String

strSourceFile = "C:tempbook1.xls" 'Change to suit your needs

strDestFile = "C:tempyourdoc.doc" 'Ditto

'Open the Excel file
Workbooks.Open strSourceFile
ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("sheet1").UsedRange.Copy

'Open the Word document
Set wdApp = CreateObject("Word.Application")
wdApp.Documents.Open strDestFile
wdApp.Selection.Paste

End Sub

Upvote 0
Mark - this implies that each time the word doc is updated, it overwrites the current info. I need a separate file each time from excel to word. ?