Not sure where to start

brent

First of all I am a newbie at excel. So excuse me if this is a simple problem.

I am trying to use a worksheet to plan employees schedules. I would like to sum the hour totals of each colomn/row but, here is the catch, the cell data is a range of text and numbers. To top it off the numbers are not the value of what they are. For example D=12 hours, 7=8 hours, 23=8 hours, N=12 hours. Is there a way to asign values to text etc so that the colomns/rows add up?

Thanks
Brent

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
On 2002-04-02 21:38, brent wrote:
First of all I am a newbie at excel. So excuse me if this is a simple problem.

I am trying to use a worksheet to plan employees schedules. I would like to sum the hour totals of each colomn/row but, here is the catch, the cell data is a range of text and numbers. To top it off the numbers are not the value of what they are. For example D=12 hours, 7=8 hours, 23=8 hours, N=12 hours. Is there a way to asign values to text etc so that the colomns/rows add up?

Thanks
Brent

Hi Brent,

Probably not too difficult, but will require some thought and some tinkering. Please post all the details of how the data is set up and the text/values criteria and you'll find a lot of help here.

Lookup tables, named formulas, and the like can probably be used successfully, so please let us know more details.

Bye,
Jay
This message was edited by Jay Petrulis on 2002-04-02 21:44

Upvote 0
It is a pretty simple spreadsheet.
Dates at the top. Persons name down the LH side. Each cell long the employees line will have the associated shift that they are working. So a typical week for Joe might be

M T W T F S S

D 7 7 N

So the guy works for shists in the week. Monday a 12 hour day, Wed/Thur a 8 hour shift beinning at 7am and a 12 hour night shift on Saturday.

Upvote 0