Importing cells with more than 255 characters
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Importing cells with more than 255 characters

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    I've downloaded a Crystal report that contains fields that have more than 255 characters but when opening in Excel, the data is truncated. Any ideas how to do this (if it can be done)?

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi

    Can i ask why Crystal is giving sre long data returns, whats the data

    I use Crystal 6 or something but i have a man who Crystal guru i can ask??? seem large down load.


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Crystal is extracting a 2000char field from an Oracle database. Crystal exports all of the data correctly but when opening in Excel it is truncated to 255. I don't believe it's an issue with Crystal as I can export to .txt and open in another app and the data is there and correct.

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    OK thtas good

    trythis sound daft but give it a wirl, copt the text file and pate into Excel A1 cell and fornat Text to columns and see if it does as you want. poss few errors...

    HTH

    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestion but it doesn't seem to work. It splits the text so that it is on several rows.

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ermm

    I have spoken to ther Guru of crystal but sadly no orical.. is theis regular work or one off?

    Email the sheet on JackintheUK@hotmail.com

    ill have a look for you

    HTH
    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Importing cells with more than 255 characters

    Has anyone found a solution to this issue yet? I have the same problem with importing data from a requirements type of software called DOORS. Thank you!

  8. #8
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Joe4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    43,277
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Importing cells with more than 255 characters

    TIPS FOR FINDING EXCEL SOLUTIONS
    1. Use the built-in Help that comes with Excel/Access
    2. Use the Search functionality on this board
    3. A lot of VBA code can be acquired by using the Macro Recorder.

    "Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, feed him for life!"

  9. #9
    Board Regular santeria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tallahassee
    Posts
    1,844
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

      
    If the Suggested import method works, but does the obvious thing of Splitting it into different cells, my question would be is, are the text cells in sequence.
    If there is a text limit on Excel, then the problem will continuously arise, and seemingly the only way to overcome it would be to format the cells so that the data is readable.


    The thing that intrigues me, is that Crystal Reports used to have an export function for taking reports to excel... also, the native Reports part of Crystal is fairly good.

    If it has to come into Excel, then it seems that a compromise work-around is needed, however, whenever I saw Crystal Reports data taken from Crystal Reports using an SQL back-end, the end result was always use-able, even with huge text sections.

    "Don't Ruin an Apology with an Excuse"...

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com