macro or conditional issue

frissylea

i am fairly new to excel, so need help with something that could be easy or maybe can't be done. I want to have the name of the Worksheet (i.e. July 2001) appear in a cell at the top of the document. This workbook has a sheet for each month in a year, each time i copy a sheet to create a new month, I have to change the name of the sheet then make a change to a cell at the top of the document with the same text. Is it possible to set up a macro or something that would read what the sheet name is and insert it into the same shell in every sheet in a workbook??

I hope this is not a dumb question... but am trying to save time have to type this text twice for each sheet. :confused: :confused:

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.
=MID(CELL("filename",A1),FIND("]",CELL("filename",A1))+1,
LEN(CELL("filename",A1))-FIND("]",CELL("filename",A1)))

Upvote 0
On 2002-04-08 13:07, Dreamboat wrote:

how do i apply this code.. do i just cut and paste into the cell i want it in?? I do have some knowlege on macros.. but not in excell.. I am familure with macros in WordPerfect only..

Upvote 0
On 2002-04-08 13:14, frissylea wrote:
On 2002-04-08 13:07, Dreamboat wrote:

how do i apply this code.. do i just cut and paste into the cell i want it in?? I do have some knowlege on macros.. but not in excell.. I am familure with macros in WordPerfect only..

Chris,

just type it into the cell you want your sheet tab reference to appear

or

copy the formula and paste special as unicode text

Upvote 0
Hi Chris,
just type it into the cell you want your sheet tab reference to appear

or

copy the formula and paste special as unicode text