VLookup Newbie Question

Marty1111

Hello All!

A newbie here. I appreciate any help. I am actually quite good in a # of areas - but not in VLookups. I basically have two tabs with similar lists of customers and misc info. One list has addresses and the other doesn't. Each customer has a customer # reflected on both tabbed page. My formula wld basically be: if customer # on tab 1 ='s customer # on tab 2 - take address from tab 1 and place in customer's row on tab 2.

Thanks 4 anyone helping me with this. I have already entitled the data in tab 1 (where the address is) "Table1."

A sample I was using to try to duplicate is as follows: (It however has a little more info in it which is confusing me) -
=IF(VLOOKUP(D3,Table1,1)=D3,IF(VLOOKUP(D3,Table1,2)=0,"DNP",VLOOKUP(D3,Table1,2)&IF(LEN(VLOOKUP(D3,Table1,2))=7,"","-"&VLOOKUP(C3,table2,2))),"Missing GL Number")

The CUST# is in Column B in Table 1 (1st Tab) and in Column E in the target table. The address is in column I. I realize I will be putting the VLookup formula in column I of the target table.

Also, if it is fairly easy if someone cld interpret the above sample - I'd be very grateful.

Again - thank you 4 taking the time to help. I really appreciate it. :eek: Marty

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
The long example formula is first checking if the D3 can be found from the Table1. If not, the it'll return the "Missing GL Number". If a match is found then it checks, if the second cell next to the D3 match is empty (or zero) and returns "DNP" if so. If there's something in the next cell then it returns that value and checks how many characters there are in it. If it's 7 characters long, the it'll add a space. If it's not 7 characters long it'll return "-" and the matching value for C3 from the 2nd column in Table2.