Formulas Do Not Work Automatically
Formulas Do Not Work Automatically
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Formulas Do Not Work Automatically

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    I have been using excel in XP Pro. Edition for several months. Just recently when I enter new data in the cells, the result does not change. The formula is correct but doesn't work. I can enter the exact same formula back in the cell and it works fine, but will not update when numbers in the cells are changed. What the heck is up with that?

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    =ActiveCell.Address
    Posts
    478
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Has your calculation been set to Manual?
    (Under Tools>Options)



  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP Jay Petrulis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    2,040
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi,

    Don't have XP, but make sure your calculation setting is turned to automatic.

    Tools>Options>Calculation

    If you want to keep it on manual, F9 will recalculate, Ctrl+Alt+F9 will force a full recalculation.

    HTH,
    Jay

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks, that was easy. But, I never changed it to that and no one else gets on this computer. Is it possible for it just to change like that? I guess anything is possible, thanks again.

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-10 10:04, tornadowatch wrote:
    Thanks, that was easy. But, I never changed it to that and no one else gets on this computer. Is it possible for it just to change like that? I guess anything is possible, thanks again.
    The 1st workbook opened establishes the Calculation setting for all subsequently opened workbooks. Is it possible that you opened someone else's workbook that was previously saved with Calculation set to Manual?

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-04-10 10:08 ]

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Very possible, a shared file on the server perhaps. However, I haven't had this happen before. Something new with XP?

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-10 10:17, tornadowatch wrote:
    Very possible, a shared file on the server perhaps. However, I haven't had this happen before. Something new with XP?
    Nope, always been that way!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Think I know the problem. Someone new is entering data in the shared file and must have changed the calculation to manual. He just started a few weeks ago. Shortly after that is when my problem began. Thanks again to everyone for the help.

  9. #9
    MrExcel MVP Jay Petrulis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    2,040
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-10 10:23, tornadowatch wrote:
    Think I know the problem. Someone new is entering data in the shared file and must have changed the calculation to manual. He just started a few weeks ago. Shortly after that is when my problem began. Thanks again to everyone for the help.
    Sure, blame the new guy!


  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Formulas Do Not Work Automatically

      
    I already Set the calculation to Automatic, but the cell does not changed. But if I press Ctrl+Alt+F9, the cell works. Could you please to help me?

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com