Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Find and replace

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am opening a .txt file and then use the delimit feature and delimit file by | then when i open the file the very first column i want to do find and replace, i am keeping find what field empty and then i am saying replace with "Unknown". it does'nt work.
    do u know why?

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What is it that you're trying to find?

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    =ActiveCell.Address
    Posts
    478
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If Excel can't find anything it won't do anything and you haven't specified anything for it to find.
    If you're trying to replace the blank cells with "Unknown", then try copying this formula down another column
    =IF(A1<>"",A1,"Unknown")

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am trying to find "" but looks like there are no "". so how can i find what that cell contains when it shows blank and it is not "" so how to replace the contents of that cell with "Unknown"?

    I tried AJ's formula but does not work it works on the cell in the rows where data on the work sheet ends after that it works

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Any one who knows answer to this?

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-10 11:41, guest wrote:
    Any one who knows answer to this?
    Use an AutoFilter.

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Auto Filter only shows the values of 4 types which are there in data and shows blank and non blank

  8. #8
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-10 11:56, guest wrote:
    Auto Filter only shows the values of 4 types which are there in data and shows blank and non blank
    Choose Custom and press [ OK ].

  9. #9
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It shows me those rows which i am trying to replace when i select blanks

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •