VBA Conditional Formatting - Multiple Criteria

kbruner

Hello,

Using Excel 2003 on XP, I am attempting to add CF to a macro using VBA. I'm very new to VBA, so my syntax isn't always clean. I can't find a similar enough reference to what I'm trying to do, so I need help, or I'll pull out the rest of my hair. :)

Here is a sample of the code I'm trying to use - pared down to two Cases from six, for visibility:

Dim fairtype as Range
Dim rangevar As Range

Set fairtype = Sheets("Monitor").Range("C1")
Set rangevar = Sheets("Adv").Range("d2:d600")

For Each cell In rangevar

Select Case fairtype

Case "PRES"
If (rangevar.Value = "*holiday*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*Yellow*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*pic*") Then
cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 35
cell.Interior.Pattern = xlSolid
End If

Case "MIL"
If (rangevar.Value = "*Best*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*Green*") Then
cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 35
cell.Interior.Pattern = xlSolid
End If

End Select

Next cell

I'm getting a "Type Mismatch" error in Case "MIL" (that is what is in the Range when I run the macro, so skipping over Case "PRES" is correct).

Please let me know how I messed this up.

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
This won't work:

If (rangevar.Value = "*holiday*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*Yellow*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*pic*") Then

Try:

If (rangevar.Value Like "*holiday*") Or (rangevar.Value Like "*Yellow*") Or (rangevar.Value Like "*pic*") Then

Upvote 0
You might want to use a Select-Case structure instead of the If-Or structure you have right now.

You also may want to use the InStr function instead of wildcards. The syntax for that would be:

InStr([Value to search through], [Value to search for])

If the second item is found within the first item, InStr will return the position in the first item that it was found. Otherwise, it will return 0.

Upvote 0
Thank you both for your replies!