Excel VBA to import into SQL Server 2008

Biz

Office Version
  1. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

I am new to using Excel VBA to import into SQL Server 2008.

Currently I have 17 files to upload up to 1000 rows manually. Is there a VBA that can load an excel file directly into SQL?
It would be faster then loading 1 file at time in SQL import.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p> </o:p>
I was thinking having named range and having SharePoint addresses of xlsm /xlsx files and looping it through.
<o:p> </o:p>
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Biz

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Hi

I tried to reply to this yesterday but the board crashed just as I tried. Second time lucky :)

There are a number of different ways. The simplest would be just constructing INSERT statements and then using ADO to insert the data. It's not the most efficient way but 17,000 rows shouldn't take too long. Here is some example code (requires a reference to the Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects 2.x Library):

Code:
Sub UploadFromExcelToSQL()

Dim adoCN As ADODB.Connection
Dim sConnString As String
Dim sSQL As String
Dim lRow As Long, lCol As Long

sConnString = "Provider=sqloledb;Server=servername;Database=NORTHWIND;User Id=xx;Password=password"

Set adoCN = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")

'adoCN.Open sConnString

'Assumes that you have Field1, Field2 and Field3 in columns A, B and C
'For this example we can assume that the data exists on Sheet1, with a header on row
'1 and data in rows 2-11
'Also assume that the fields are defined as character (e.g. varchar or char)
'Text values must be enclosed in apostrophes whereas numeric values should not.

For lRow = 2 To 11

sSQL = "INSERT INTO YOUR_TABLE (FIELD1, FIELD2, FIELD3) " & _
            " VALUES (" & _