Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Drop down menu does not work.

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    757
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Drop down menu does not work.

    Hi there! I have a workbook that is having an issue with drop down menu's. When I click in a cell the little drop down arrow appears and when I go to click on the drop down arrow nothing happens. The drop down list does not appear.

    BUT.......if I click in the cell and right click and chose "pick from list" the list will then appear.

    Why is this happening? Why does the drop down list not appear when I click on the arrow but only work if I chose the "pick from list" ???

    I need the drop down arrow to work
    Marq

  2. #2
    Board Regular Trevor G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    6,314
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    It maybe that someone has added a control and you have to tell excel that you don't want to work in design mode. I would look to see if there is a design mode option in your version of Excel

    Would be useful to let us know what version of Excel you are using
    Trevor
    I am on a learning curve of life, I know a little but like to share what I have learnt with others.
    I am using Microsoft Office 2003 to 2016
    Please remember everyone here is a volunteer, so if you have had a reply to your thread be courteous and acknowledge this.

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    757
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    excel 2000
    Marq

  4. #4
    Board Regular Trevor G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    6,314
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    Try and look to see if you have a control box toolbar and if there is an icon that has a design mode.

    Its been a while since I looked at 2000.
    Trevor
    I am on a learning curve of life, I know a little but like to share what I have learnt with others.
    I am using Microsoft Office 2003 to 2016
    Please remember everyone here is a volunteer, so if you have had a reply to your thread be courteous and acknowledge this.

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    757
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    yes, there is a design mode
    Marq

  6. #6
    Board Regular Trevor G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    6,314
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    Have you tried the button then to see if this helps you?
    Trevor
    I am on a learning curve of life, I know a little but like to share what I have learnt with others.
    I am using Microsoft Office 2003 to 2016
    Please remember everyone here is a volunteer, so if you have had a reply to your thread be courteous and acknowledge this.

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    757
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    yes...it does nothing..i understand how to make drop downs and other things like that, but this workbook was given to me to fix..i did not create it.....and I never created a drop down menu embedded in a cell before. Click on the cell and the arrows reveals itsel is something i never learned how to do so I have no idea how to reverse engineer it so-to-speak.
    Marq

  8. #8
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    757
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Drop down menu does not work.

    let me ask...if the drop down list is coming from an entirely different workbook, which I do not have on my pc, would that make the drop down arrow not work? But i that WAS the case then I wouldnt be able to chose "pick from list" and chose items int he list.

    I'm just guessing as to what the problem can be. This work book is linked to other workbooks.
    Marq

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •