Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Mircosoft Query

  1. #1
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the Data gets refreshed at the start of a macro for Excel does the macro wait for the data to be refreshed before continuing??

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    any Ideas?

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If Script ripps data via ODBC then YES will continue after the download is compleated and carry on with Macro..

    BUt depends on exact VBA code of cause, this would be safest call off cause.. ie get the dat the work on it
    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Jack i'm only doing an
    activeworkbook.refreshall
    then I want to wait for it to finish before continuing the rest of the macro?

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    refresh is more or less the save over / under ODBC if thats waht your using even crystal used MS ODBC drivers and Query, so should hang until compleated,

    Can i ask where its going wrong?

    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I won't to make sure the data is refreshed first so that it's up to date but what is happinging

    is that the keeps going on its way while the little earth at the bottom of the screen is still spinning and updating the information.

    I just need some kind of code to pause for a specified amount of time without pausing the application(So it keeps updating)?

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default



    The spinning globe world is as ODBC ripps data into excel so alls ok then when finished code will continue im sure so will be live current data.

    all seems ok

    On 2002-04-16 13:27, brettvba wrote:
    I won't to make sure the data is refreshed first so that it's up to date but what is happinging

    is that the keeps going on its way while the little earth at the bottom of the screen is still spinning and updating the information.

    I just need some kind of code to pause for a specified amount of time without pausing the application(So it keeps updating)?
    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  8. #8
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yeah but I want it to finish before the rest of the code is run?

  9. #9
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    exactly thats what my prev post says... ODBC will hold VBA script if ODBC is in code to rip data bfrom bespoke GLOBE hangs to allow data transfer intio excel, THEN code will continue/


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  10. #10
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I know what your saying jack thats what I thought it would do as well it is refreshing about 5 sheets some take up to a minute to refresh and I have watched the code executing while the tables are still refreshing I guess its back to the drawing board

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •