Year Function

viper

I have never used this one before so I really have no clue how to do this. I have 12 hidden cells that contain a month ending date, what I need is to write a permanate code that will decrease each of the 12 cells date by one based on the current year. Example(year of 2002 Feb. 27, 2002 is contained in say cell (B12), in 2003 that same day will be Feb. 26, 2003) So on January 1, 2003 each of the cells will need to be decreased by one. Any help is greatly appreicated(I know spelled wrong).

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
On 2002-02-23 17:51, viper wrote:
I have never used this one before so I really have no clue how to do this. I have 12 hidden cells that contain a month ending date, what I need is to write a permanate code that will decrease each of the 12 cells date by one based on the current year. Example(year of 2002 Feb. 27, 2002 is contained in say cell (B12), in 2003 that same day will be Feb. 26, 2003) So on January 1, 2003 each of the cells will need to be decreased by one. Any help is greatly appreicated(I know spelled wrong).

Not sure I understand your question, but it seems you want to add 1 year to a given date:

If so, use either

=DATE(YEAR(A1)+1,MONTH(A1),DAY(A1))

or

=EDATE(A1,12) [ this one requires the Analysis Toolpak ]

where A1 houses a date.

If this is not what you want, please elaborate.

Upvote 0