IF function

sprinkle

I am a student enrolled in a technical school. I am currently studying Microsoft Excel 2000. My instructor gave an assignment. Upon completion of this assignment, I was told that one of the answers I had given was wrong. The instructor wasn't even sure how to correctly do this problem, but guessed on the answer anyway. I disagree with her answer, could you please help me. The problem is a word problem having to do with writing an IF function. Here is the problem:
Write an IF function for cell H5 that assigns the text "Eligible" if the value in cell H12 is three times greater than the value in cell H13; otherwise the IF function assigns the text "Not Eligible".
Please try to help me with with this problem. I really want to understand all of Excel 2000.
Thank You

Sally Folds

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
On 2002-04-16 16:59, sprinkle wrote:
I am a student enrolled in a technical school. I am currently studying Microsoft Excel 2000. My instructor gave an assignment. Upon completion of this assignment, I was told that one of the answers I had given was wrong. The instructor wasn't even sure how to correctly do this problem, but guessed on the answer anyway. I disagree with her answer, could you please help me. The problem is a word problem having to do with writing an IF function. Here is the problem:
Write an IF function for cell H5 that assigns the text "Eligible" if the value in cell H12 is three times greater than the value in cell H13; otherwise the IF function assigns the text "Not Eligible".
Please try to help me with with this problem. I really want to understand all of Excel 2000.
Thank You

Sally Folds

I'd accept

=IF(H12>=3*H13,"Eligible","Not Eligible")

as an answer.

Upvote 0
The following may be what you are after:
=IF(H12>=H13*3,"Eligible","Not Eligible")

HTH

PS. Aladin is too quick for me.