Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: BIG IF

  1. #1
    Board Regular swaink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    51.421818,-0.977139
    Posts
    432
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Everyone

    I have a formula in one cell that returns TRUE/FALSE.

    If the value is TRUE I want to update a cell on another worksheet to read "Booked"

    Can anyone Help

    Kev

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-17 09:10, swaink wrote:
    Hi Everyone

    I have a formula in one cell that returns TRUE/FALSE.

    If the value is TRUE I want to update a cell on another worksheet to read "Booked"

    Can anyone Help

    Kev
    [img]/board/images/smiles/icon_confused.gif[/img]
    ...and, if it's FALSE?

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    For arguments sake, let's say that cell A1 on sheet1 is the that will return the TRUE/FALSE value. Let's say that cell B2 on Sheet2 is the cell that's going to say "Booked" or "Available" (or whatever the FALSE text will be)

    Go to Cell B2 on sheet2 and put in this formula:

    =IF(Sheet1!A1 = TRUE,"Booked","Available")

    HTH


    _________________
    [b] Mark O'Brien

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark O'Brien on 2002-04-17 10:02 ]

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    =IF(Sheet1!A1 = TRUE,"Booked","Avaliable")
    The bolded portion of you IF above is unnecessary. Instead, consider using...

    =IF(Sheet1!A1,"Booked","Avaliable")


  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah, I know but I'm anal about implicitly stating things like that (in programming or whatever. Comes through messing about with other people's code, I like to make things more readable when I'm a novice.

    I'm just chuffed that that's your only comment about the formula.

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-17 09:44, Mark O'Brien wrote:
    Yeah, I know but I'm anal about implicitly stating things like that (in programming or whatever. Comes through messing about with other people's code, I like to make things more readable when I'm a novice.

    I'm just chuffed that that's your only comment about the formula.
    Well, I did let the spelling of "available" slip by... Now, that's anal!!

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-04-17 09:49 ]

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What spelling of "Available"? You're the guy that can't spell that word.

    Mantra(don't notice the edit, don't notice the edit....)

    You're just po'd 'cos I stepped out of my bounds from VBA to "built in function" crap.

    Actually yesterday, and just for you, I populated Sheet1 with the value "1" in every cell. My machine can handle that, but any data that occupies more than 8 bits is going to crap it out for me.

  8. #8
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    83,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-17 09:10, swaink wrote:
    Hi Everyone

    I have a formula in one cell that returns TRUE/FALSE.

    If the value is TRUE I want to update a cell on another worksheet to read "Booked"

    Can anyone Help

    Kev
    Kev,

    To which formula are you referring and where exactly do you want "Booked" appear when that formula returns/computes TRUE?

    Aladin

  9. #9
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-17 10:10, Mark O'Brien wrote:
    You're just po'd 'cos I stepped out of my bounds from VBA to "built in function" crap.
    PO'd? Nah!! We welcome you into the "Built-in" fold.

  10. #10
    Board Regular swaink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    51.421818,-0.977139
    Posts
    432
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Guys

    Just to clarify where Im at.
    On sheet 1 I'm using code and a button, the user will click this button to confirm a bookin. If the button is clicked it will update say cell C9 to read TRUE.

    Now in another cell (G12) using Aladins formula "Data!"&ADDRESS(MATCH(C12,DATES,0)+2,2)I have obtained the address of a cell on Sheet 2.

    If the value in C9 is false I don't want to do anything, but if its TRUE then I want the cell on Sheet2 to read "Booked"

    So Im trying to use the address retreived by the code in G12 as a reference point.

    Phew I hope that makes sense

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •