Why are dates so tricky???

vidius

I am a newbie to excel and wouldn't be able to do anything like VBS that I saw mentioned in other posts that I read whilst trying to find an answer to this question...

I have patients who may have a reaction to a drug. The event will have a start date and time(A1) and a stop date and time(B1). I want to calculate the duration.
Initially I had both cells formatted as date with custom 'dd-mmm-yy hh:mm' and the calc as B1-A1 but if the month of start and finish is the same the result says that month is 1 when it should be zero.

Is that clear enough??

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
What format do you want B1-A1 to be in? You have to realize that Excel treats dates/times as fractions of a day. So if:
A1=4/17/2002 9:21
B1=4/18/2002 9:21
B1-A1=1 (1 day)
(B1-A1)*24=24 (24 hours)
(B1-A1)*1440=1440 (1440 minutes)
(B1-A1)*86400=86400 (86400 seconds)

This message was edited by Al Chara on 2002-04-18 07:28

Upvote 0
Al et al,

Thank you for the replies.

If I format the result as dd mm then using your numbers, Al, it will give 01-jan (as jan is month 1!)

Upvote 0
On 2002-04-18 08:09, vidius wrote:
Al et al,

Thank you for the replies.

If I format the result as dd mm then using your numbers, Al, it will give 01-jan (as jan is month 1!)

Actually, it will give you 01-jan (as jan-01 is the first day of the year)

And if the result was 32 it would give you feb-01 (as feb-01 is the 32 day of the year)
This message was edited by Al Chara on 2002-04-18 08:20

Upvote 0
On 2002-04-18 07:10, vidius wrote:
I am a newbie to excel and wouldn't be able to do anything like VBS that I saw mentioned in other posts that I read whilst trying to find an answer to this question...