Auto Filter
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Auto Filter

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    Can you please let me know if I can reference other cells to the various selections I make within an autofilter drop down box. I would like to make numerous changes to my filter selections and have the selections automatically update headings, table names etc. Thanks.

    [ This Message was edited by: simon on 2002-04-18 14:33 ]

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-18 14:03, simon wrote:
    Can you please let me know if I can reference other cells to the various selections I make within an autofilter drop down box. Thanks.
    If I understand your question -- No. Care to restate your question with more specifics?

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    as i beleive as as i practice NO one range.... as such


    FIX

    suggest hidden table to combine 2 3 4 5 ranges into one, and drop down to this data table..

    any good


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    357
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Do you mean -

    1) You've autofiltered a list.
    2) Choosen a field from one of the drop boxes and filtered by one of the available options.
    3) And you now want to link a cell to one of the visible cells in the autofiltered list?

    Yeah, you can do that. I just tried it.

    Or have you lost me?

    Edit: Judging by the other two responses before, it seems I have no earthly idea what the original question was. Oh, well...

    [ This Message was edited by: Cosmos75 on 2002-04-18 14:27 ]

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-18 14:03, simon wrote:
    Can you please let me know if I can reference other cells to the various selections I make within an autofilter drop down box. I would like to make numerous changes to my filter selections and have the selections automatically update headings, table names etc. Thanks.

    [ This Message was edited by: simon on 2002-04-18 14:33 ]
    Sounds like you need to have a look at Advanced AutoFilters. Can you provide some sample data of a simple case?

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-04-18 14:41 ]

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

      
    try to keep in simple and not fragmant the search filter, so will be maintainable, splintering or mixing to deep will be a headace... well i would not, and would not advise...


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com