I'm new at excel

heathermm

If somebody could please help me with this I would appreciate it. I'm know this is very easy for everyone else but I just don't get it. Tutorials read like jibberish
All I need to do is calculate hours and wages.
e.g.
column a name
column b wk 1 hours
column c wk 2 hours
column d total of hours
column e wages
column f hrs multiplied by wages
Also is there a way to apply this function for everyone at the same time or do I need to apply the function for every employee
I would also like to get a total of each column.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Heather

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
in column d put =B1+C1 or =SUM(B1:C1). double click on the fill handle (bottom right of cell) to copy the formula down to the last row you have data in.
in column f put =D1*E1 and do the fill handle thing again.
to total all columns, at the bottom of column b put=SUM(B1:B20) [adjust the cell range to suit]. drag the formula across to row f using the fill handle. to total column a put =COUNTA(A1:A20), again adjusting the cell range to suit.
is that what you wanted?
This message was edited by anno on 2002-04-18 17:41

Upvote 0
I appreciate the help you've given me, now just one more REALLY STUPID QUESTION. I've put in all of the formulas but nothing is adding up. It just continues to have the formula in the cell. How do I get it to perform the calculation.

Heather

Upvote 0
Did you put the = sign front of the formula? Also you can go to tools/options and be sure formulas does not have a check mark next to it........

Denny
This message was edited by kinkyparamour on 2002-04-19 19:20

Upvote 0
Sorry, you got ahead of me. Yes, the = sign should be there. now check the tools/options and look at formulas, this should not be checked.....

Denny
This message was edited by kinkyparamour on 2002-04-19 19:22

Upvote 0