Shortcut to "Form"

cordeaux

I am new to excel. I am trying to start up a sheet with a box to indicate whether you want to input a new record this would then take you straight to the Form box if needed. Can this be done? If so how?

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Yeah sure, put this in your Worksheet Activate event:

response = MsgBox("Do you wish to input data?", vbYesNo + vbQuestion, "Daddy Form!")
If response = vbno Then
Exit Sub
else
userform1.show
end sub

Audiojoe
I need a little break to get away for a holiday. So I can see the sun, cos in the sun they say it's fun, if you get some

Upvote 0
Sorry, that wasn't very clear. OK, right click on the sheet tab of the sheet concerned and select VIEW CODE.

Now above the big blank white bit there are two drop down boxes. Select WORKSHEET from the left hand one, and ACTIVATE from the right hand one. Now paste the code in there

Audiojoe

Upvote 0
Thanks audiojoe, I,ve tried to do as you stated, but I can't get it to work. I copied and pasted your code into the worksheet activate window (the bit above the line)is that right? I then saved it came out and opened the sheet afresh and nothing happened. Any ideas? I,ve just got 2 records there at the moment but if I use the toolbar it still shows the Form. Sorry to be so dippy!

Upvote 0
Sorry, my bad. SHould have had an End If in there. Right the code should look exactly like this:

Private Sub Worksheet_Activate()
response = MsgBox("Do you wish to input data?", vbYesNo + vbQuestion, "Daddy Form!")
If response = vbNo Then
Exit Sub
Else
UserForm1.Show
End If
End Sub

Audiojoe

Upvote 0